IDOP

“Blessed are you when others revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.” (Jesus, Matthew 5:11-12 ESV)

Persecution.

I think I know the meaning of the word. I have a grasp of its’ definition and can tell you how the dictionary explains it. I think I’ve experienced it. I’ve felt stinging rebuke and public mocking because I made my faith in Jesus public. Overlooked, ridiculed and left out because of Jesus.

But I’m not alone.

Ponder these things:

  • ‘North Koreans who evangelize have a life expectancy of about three months.’ – VOM Newsletter, October 2010
  • ‘The Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia, also known as FARC guerrillas, have inflicted violence upon Colombians for the last 40 years. Guerrilla leaders are constantly recruiting children to join their Marxist movement to replace the children and young adults who are killed. Those who speak against the violence or who encourage others not to join the guerrillas are targeted especially Christian leaders…’ – VOM

Persecution.

  • ‘More people have been killed for their faith in Jesus Christ in the 20th century than all the previous centuries combined.’

If you’ve ever been mistreated for your faith, you’re not alone. If you’re currently suffering at the hands of others who do not share your love for Jesus, you’re not the first.

They persecuted the prophets who were before you. And if you love Jesus with all your heart, you’ll eventually be persecuted too.

November 14th is the International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church (IDOP).  I encourage you to check out these sites for information on persecution around the world, to speak up for those who are suffering, and most importantly, pray for persecuted Christians all around the world.

www.persecution.net

www.smyrnaministries.org

Gospel for Asia

Open Doors

On Sunday, November 14th, join with 1,000s of congregations around the world as we pray for our suffering brothers and sisters in Christ. Join us for the International Day of Prayer for the Persecuted Church.

One thought on “IDOP

  1. I thought I could contact you because both of ouf last names are Collicott. I am also delighted to see that you are a Christian. God works all things for His Glory.

    Dottie

Leave a comment